A Guide to Allergy-Friendly Restaurants in Boulder

nutsLately, people are being diagnosed with more and more food allergies, from dairy and gluten to nuts and shellfish. Others have more rare allergies such as citrus foods. While not all restaurants cater to each allergy, there are a number of allergy-friendly restaurants in Boulder, serving up sensitive meals to folks from every walk of life.

Gluten/Wheat

Since a number of people are discovering an intolerance to wheat, gluten, or being diagnosed with Celiac’s disease, gluten-free restaurants in Boulder are fairly easy to find.

Not only is there a wealth of gluten-free beer options, many places offer an extensive menu free of gluten. This includes Boulder restaurants such as Native Foods Café, Modmarket, Tangerine, Yellowbelly and Zeal.  Another great food to eat when you’re avoiding gluten is pho. The noodles are rice noodles and most ingredients are fresh produce or meat. Just be sure to skip the soy sauce or ask for a gluten-free alternative.

Dairy

I love cheese more than just about anything, but the fact of the matter is that some people suffer from a dairy allergy. I weep for them. However, there are still some stellar Boulder restaurants for people who suffer from dairy allergies.

The best way to avoid dairy in a restaurant situation is to eat vegan and lucky for you, there are a plethora of vegan restaurants in Boulder. If you can’t go without meat, eating paleo is a great way to avoid dairy. Fresh Thymes and The Corner offer delicious dairy-free, meat-friendly options.

Nuts

Unfortunately, there’s not really a “nut-free” restaurant in Boulder, but many restaurants are very careful not to include nuts if you specify that you have an allergy. Any of the restaurants mentioned above are sensitive to dietary restrictions and will happily make sure that your meal is nut-free if that’s how you request it — just ask!

Shellfish

While this can be a pretty scary allergy to have, luckily, it’s fairly easy to avoid shellfish as long as you … don’t order shellfish. Also, if you have your doubts about a menu item, ask your server. There are some broth-based foods made with a seafood-based broth (especially in Italian and Mediterranean restaurants), so keep in mind that a lack of actual shellfish in the dish might not mean a dish is shellfish free.

Boulder restaurants are very conscientious of diners with allergies and do their best to make sure their customers have a delicious meal, no matter what their dietary restrictions. The above is a solid guide for locals and visitors alike so you can enjoy your Boulder experience without any unpleasant side effects. Well, at least side effects from your food, that is.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Kelly Tidd

Kelly Tidd

Unicorn lover and player hater. Total adventure junkie. Kelly Tidd has been a writer for most of her "adult" life and a freelance writer for three years. She focuses on blogging and website content optimization (a fancy way for saying she makes SEO copy look pretty).
Kelly Tidd

Kelly Tidd

Unicorn lover and player hater. Total adventure junkie. Kelly Tidd has been a writer for most of her "adult" life and a freelance writer for three years. She focuses on blogging and website content optimization (a fancy way for saying she makes SEO copy look pretty).

Featured Listings

Related Posts

Never Miss a Thing in Boulder

Sign up for our FREE weekly email with Boulder’s best events, concerts, happy hour deals, comedy shows and more. Delivered to your inbox every Friday!

Never Miss a Thing in Boulder

Sign up for our FREE weekly email with Boulder’s best events, concerts, happy hour deals, comedy shows and more. Delivered to your inbox every Friday!

Latest Posts